Senate GOP Leader Announces Caucus Leadership Team, Committee Vice-Chair Assignments

Tuesday, January 6, 2015

SACRAMENTO – Senate Republican Leader Bob Huff (R-Diamond Bar) announced today that Senator Tom Berryhill (R-Twain Harte) will serve as Caucus Chair for the 2015-16 legislative session.  Huff named the other members of his leadership team: Senator Jean Fuller (R-Bakersfield) will continue as Vice Chair of the Senate Rules Committee and Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber) will continue as Vice Chair of the Senate Budget Committee.  Senator Ted Gaines (R-Roseville) becomes Caucus Whip, and Senator Pat Bates (R-Laguna Niguel) will serve as Assistant Caucus Whip.

“Senators Berryhill, Fuller, Nielsen, Gaines and Bates will provide effective leadership for our caucus and I look forward to working with them,” said Huff. “They will play key roles to help our members enact our legislative priorities: making college more affordable for middle class families, strengthening our economy, and getting more Californians back to work.”

Senator Huff also confirmed the policy committee Vice Chair assignments announced earlier today: 

Agriculture:  Senator Anthony Cannella (R-Ceres)
Appropriations:  Senator Pat Bates (R-Laguna Niguel)
Banking and Financial Institutions:  Senator Andy Vidak (R-Hanford)
Budget and Fiscal Review:   Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber)
Budget Subcommittee #1 – Education:  Senator Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga)
Budget Subcommittee #2 - Resources, Environmental Protection, Energy and Transportation:  Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber)
Budget Subcommittee #3 - Health & Human Services:  Senator Jeff Stone (R-Temecula)
Budget Subcommittee #4 - State Administration and General Government:  Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Garden Grove)
Budget Subcommittee #5 – Corrections, Public Safety and the Judiciary:  Senator Joel Anderson (R-Alpine)
Business, Professions and Economic Development:  Senator Pat Bates (R-Laguna Niguel)
Education:  Senator Bob Huff (R-Diamond Bar)
Elections and Constitutional Amendments:  Senator Joel Anderson (R-Alpine)
Energy, Utilities and Communications:  Senator Jean Fuller (R-Bakersfield)
Environmental Quality:   Senator Ted Gaines (R-Roseville)
Governance and Finance:   Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Garden Grove)
Governmental Organization:  Senator Tom Berryhill (R-Twain Harte)
Health:  Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Garden Grove)
Human Services:  Senator Tom Berryhill (R-Twain Harte)
Insurance:  Senator Ted Gaines (R-Roseville)
Judiciary:  Senator Andy Vidak (R-Hanford)
Labor and Industrial Relations:  Senator Jeff Stone (R-Temecula)
Legislative Ethics:  Senator Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga)
Natural Resources and Water:  Senator Jeff Stone (R-Temecula)
Public Employment and Retirement:  Senator Mike Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga)
Public Safety:  Senator Joel Anderson (R-Alpine)
Rules:  Senator Jean Fuller (R-Bakersfield)
Transportation and Housing:  Senator Anthony Cannella (R-Ceres)
Veterans Affairs:  Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber) will be Chair of this committee.